NATIONAL FEDERATION OF STATE HIGH SCHOOL ASSOCIATIONS



NEWS RELEASE

National Coaches of the Year Selected by NFHS Coaches Association

Contact: Tim Flannery

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

INDIANAPOLIS, IN (February 23, 2009) — Twenty-one high school coaches from across the country have been selected 2008 National Coaches of the Year by the National Federation of State High School Associations (NFHS) Coaches Association.

The NFHS, which has been recognizing coaches through an awards program since 1982, honors coaches in the top 10 girls sports and top 10 boys sports (by participation numbers), and in one "other" category that is not included in these 20 categories. Winners of NFHS awards must be active coaches during the year in which they receive their award. This year's awards recognize coaches for the 2007–08 school year.

Recipients of the 2008 NFHS national awards for girls sports are:

David Schlabach, basketball, Berlin (Ohio) Hiland High School; Tom Meyer, track and field, Akron (Colorado) High School; Liz Wiscombe, volleyball, Morgan (Utah) High School; Lynn G. Hicks, softball, Piedmont (South Carolina) Wren High School; Brian Taylor, soccer, Portland (Oregon) Cleveland High School; Anita Murphy, tennis, Lewiston (Maine) High School; Paul Darden, cross country, Sundown (Texas) High

School; **James Whytlaw**, swimming and diving, Springfield (Missouri) Glendale High School; **Paula Doughty**, field hockey, Skowhegan (Maine) Area High School; and **Sharon Most**, golf, Martinsville (Indiana) High School.

Recipients of this year's national awards for boys sports are:

Larry "Bud" Wright, football, Sheridan (Indiana) High School; Roy Hazzle,
basketball, Aberdeen (Mississippi) High School; John O'Leary, track and field, Toms
River (New Jersey) Monsignor Donovan High School; Jerry Rashid, baseball, Chillicothe
(Illinois) Illinois Valley Central High School; Thaier Mukhtar, soccer, Warren (Michigan)
De La Salle Collegiate High School; Tim Ottmann, wrestling, Parker (Colorado)
Ponderosa High School; Gary Bottorff, cross country, Lansing (Iowa) Kee High School;
Frank Ariola, golf, Little Falls (New Jersey) Passaic Valley High School; Kirk Price, tennis,
Englewood (Colorado) Cherry Creek High School; Rod Harman, swimming and diving,
Beaverton (Oregon) Southridge High School.

The recipient of the National Coach of the Year Award for other sports is **Janice Baker**, girls gymnastics, Shawnee (Kansas) Mission Northwest High School.

In addition to the 21 National Coaches of the Year, the NFHS Coaches

Association has selected **Thomas K. Wojslawowicz**, longtime swimming coach from

New Jersey, for the Coach Contributor Award; and **Dan McShannock** of Midland,

Michigan for the NFHS Coach Citation Award.

Wojslawowicz was the head swimming coach for boys and girls swimming at Bayonne (New Jersey) High School for 43 years. He also has contributed many years as a coach to a number of different organizations. He was founding member of the New Jersey Swim Coaches Association, of which he served terms as president and treasurer. In addition, Wojslawowicz also was named New Jersey Swim Coach of the Year by the

New Jersey Swim Coaches Association and New Jersey Swim Official of the Year by the New Jersey Swim Officials Association.

McShannock is the former athletic director at Midland (Michigan) H.H. Dow High School and served 35 years with the Saginaw Valley Conference. He also served on numerous committees for the Michigan High School Athletic Association, the Michigan Interscholastic Athletic Administrators Association, and the Michigan High School Coaches Association. He also is an active member of the NFHS Coaches Association.

The NFHS has a contact person in each state that is responsible for selecting deserving coach award recipients. This contact person often works with the state coaches' associations in their respective states. He/she contacts the potential state award recipients to complete a coach profile form that requests information regarding the coach's record, membership in and affiliation with coaching and other professional organizations, involvement with other school and community activities and programs, and coaching philosophy. To be approved as an award recipient and considered for sectional and national coach of the year consideration, this profile form must be completed by the coach or designee and then approved by the executive director (or designee) of the state athletic/activities association.

The next award level after state coach of the year is sectional coach of the year. The NFHS is divided into eight geographical sections. They are as follows: Section 1 – Northeast (CT, ME, MA, NH, NJ, NY, RI, VT); Section 2 – Mideast (DE, DC, KY, MD, OH, PA, VA, WV); Section 3 – South (AL, FL, GA, LA, MS, NC, SC, TN); Section 4 – Central (IL, IN, IA, MI, WI); Section 5 – Midwest (KS, MN, MO, NE, ND, SD); Section 6 – Southwest (AR, CO, NM, OK, TX); Section 7 – West (AZ, CA, HI, NV, UT); and Section 8 – Northwest (AK, ID, MT, OR, WA, WY).

The NFHS Coaches Association has an advisory board, composed of a chair and eight sectional representatives, which considers the state award recipients from the states in their respective sections and selects the best candidates for the sectional award in each sport category. The advisory board forwards those recommendations to the NFHS national office in Indianapolis, Indiana.

The national selection committee considers the sectional candidates in each sport, ranks them according to a point system, and determines a national winner for each of the 20 sport categories, plus one "other" category. The awards are not given for single-season achievements. Selection is based on a variety of factors and accomplishments in addition to win-loss record.

A total of 314 coaches will be recognized this year with state, sectional and national awards. The complete listing of award winners is available on the NFHS Web site, www.nfhs.org.

###

This press release was written by Paige Flynn, a spring semester intern in the NFHS

Publications/Communications Department. She is a sophomore at Butler (Indiana)

University, majoring in journalism (public relations and advertising) and minoring in digital media production.

About the National Federation of State High School Associations (NFHS)

The NFHS, based in Indianapolis, Indiana, is the national leadership organization for high school sports and fine arts activities. Since 1920, the NFHS has led the development of education-based

interscholastic sports and fine arts activities that help students succeed in their lives. The NFHS sets direction for the future by building awareness and support, improving the participation experience, establishing consistent standards and Rules for competition, and helping those who oversee high school sports and activities. The NFHS writes playing Rules for 17 sports for boys and girls at the high school level. Through its 50 member state associations and the District of Columbia, the NFHS reaches nearly 19,000 high schools and 11 million participants in high school activity programs, including almost 7.5 million in high school sports. As the recognized national authority on interscholastic activity programs, the NFHS conducts national meetings; sanctions interstate events; produces publications for high school coaches, officials and athletic directors; sponsors professional organizations for high school coaches, officials, spirit coaches, speech and debate coaches and music adjudicators; serves as the national source for interscholastic coach training; and serves as a national information resource of interscholastic athletics and activities. For more information, visit the NFHS Web site at www.nfhs.org.

MEDIA CONTACTS: Bruce Howard or John Gillis, 317–972–6900

National Federation of State High School Associations

PO Box 690, Indianapolis, Indiana 46206 bhoward@nfhs.org or jgillis@nfhs.org