

In accordance with Article 6, Section 6.3, Paragraph 6.3.1 of the Arizona Interscholastic Association, Inc. (AIA) Constitution, a special meeting of the Executive Board was held on Friday, August 1, 2014 at the AIA office located at 7007 North 18th Street in Phoenix, Arizona.

President Doug Wilson called the meeting to order at 8:30 a.m.

Members in Attendance:

Ken VanWinkle, 1A Conference (Heber-Overgaard Unified) Brenda Mayberry, 3A Conference (Combs High School) Joe Paddock, 4A Conference (Amphitheater Unified District) Anna Battle, Ed.D., 5A Conference (Tempe Union High School District) Sr. Lynn Winsor, BVM, CMAA, Arizona Interscholastic Athletic Administrators Association (Xavier College Preparatory) Doug Wilson, Ed.D., Arizona School Administrators (Marana Unified School District) Harold Slemmer, Ed.D., AIA Executive Director

Members Absent:

Toni Badone, AdvancED (Yuma Union High School District) Mike DeLaO, Arizona School Boards Association (Safford Unified School District) Wallace Youvella, Jr., 2A Conference (Hopi High School)

AIA Staff Present:

Mark Mignella, Legal Counsel Denise Doser, Director of Accounting Gary Whelchel, State Commissioner of Officials Michele Staples, Projects and Operations Administrator Lorie Tranter, Executive Assistant

Guests:

Lisa Lumbard, Lumbard & Associates Marcus Williams, Chandler District Corey Newland, Paradise Valley District Darin Giltner, Benson Dan Nero, Corona del Sol Paul Nelson, Thatcher Dr. David Peterson, Scottsdale District

HARDSHIP APPEALS COMMITTEE SELECTION

Discussion was held regarding the new procedure for hearing hardship appeals and selecting the Hardship Appeals committee. Because of the change, the Board voted to amend AIA Bylaw 15.4 as follows:

- 15.14 <u>HARDSHIP (Form 15.10)</u> In individual hardship cases the AIA Executive Board or the Hardship Appeals Committee may, at their discretion and upon such terms and conditions as may be imposed, waive or modify the Enrollment Rule (Article 15, Section 15.3, Paragraph 15.3.5 only), Domicile Rule (Article 15, Section 15.5), Maximum Participation Rule (Article 15, Section 15.9, Paragraph 15.9.1 only), Transfer Rule (Article 15, Section 15.9, Paragraph 15.9.1 only), Transfer Rule (Article 15, Section 15.10), and/or Recruitment Rule (Article 15, Section 15.12.4.14 only). and/or the International Student Eligibility Rule (Article 15, Section 15.15.2 only).</u> The appeal shall initially be heard and decided by the Hardship Appeals Committee. The decision of the Hardship Appeals Committee shall be final unless appealed to the AIA Executive Board within ten days from the date of said decision. AIA Executive Board consideration of such appeals will take place only at a regularly scheduled monthly meetings. unless otherwise scheduled by the Board. (See Article 6, Section 6.3 regarding procedures for meetings of the AIA Executive Board.) Procedures for appeals to the Hardship Appeals Committee shall be as determined by the AIA Executive Board.
 - 15.14.1 <u>Hardship Appeals Committee</u> Each Conference shall annually select one member. Each member shall be chosen by the first day of April preceding the beginning of his/her term. Terms of each member shall begin at the start of the first week per the AIA Standardized Calendar. The Hardship Appeals Committee shall meet no less than three times per year. A member of the Hardship Appeals Committee may not be a member of the AIA Executive Board. A member of the Hardship Appeals Committee must abstain from voting on any matter coming before the Committee, which involves the specific interest of the school by whom he/she is employed. (Ex. Bd. 8-1-14)

On a motion duly made, seconded and unanimously carried, the Board **<u>approved</u>** the bylaw change and selected the following to serve on the Hardship Appeals Committee:

1A Conference

Vic Acuna, St. Gregory Janet Oitzman, Gilbert Christian Mark Goodman, St. David

2A Conference

Nate Agostini, Horizon Honors Charles Gover, Hopi Al Trejo, San Manuel <u>Alternate</u>: Michael Lamothe, Many Farms

3A Conference

Rich Ormand, Blue Ridge James Denton, Combs Peter Jelovic, Chino Valley

4A Conference

Thom Leudemann, Sierra Linda RJ Lundstrom, Sahuaro TBD

5A Conference

Michael Beck, Mt. View Marana Sr. Nancy Perlick, Xavier Clif McKenzie, Scottsdale District Zack Munoz, Phoenix District Brent Brown, Corona del Sol Ray Perkins, Dobson <u>Alternates:</u> Shawn Rustad, Mt. View Mesa Jeremy Arnett, Westwood Jim Culver, Chandler

Special meeting adjourned at 8:50 a.m. and Board continued their Study Session.